top of page

'C'est la Vie'- A Poem.


I think 'sadness' is a topic not everyone talks about. Sure, you often see your friends express their sadness when their favorite singer cancels a tour, or when their day doesn't go as planned, and for so many other reasons. If we stop and think, is it really 'sadness' they are referring to, or just the idea of sadness that people around them want to hear and are accepting of? Not one ever tells another if they're sad on a specific day, and constant use of jargon such as 'feeling low' or 'under the weather' are often used as a means of shying away from what one really feels. It is so important to understand that one can spend their entire day in an extremely good mood, and all of a sudden can be faced with a feeling of dejection and sadness. This often leaves them questioning what was the 'trigger' for their sadness, and what had caused this feeling to interfere with their perfect day. It is often perceived that 'joy' and 'sadness' are polar opposites; ups and downs. However, a little reading into it shows that these two seemingly 'opposite' terms are infact right next to each other in our mood spectrum, and can be easily altered by a little push or a 'trigger'. Knowing that this is just the way our brain functions helps me personally understand that it is completely okay and normal to feel sad, and that acknowledging those feelings are of utmost importance. Just as without the dark, we wouldn't have light, similarly, without sadness, we would never comprehend the bounds of happiness that we are blessed to have in our life.

"C'est la vie" is a French phrase and as per definition, is used to express acceptance in the face of a difficult or unpleasant situation. It directly translates to "such is life" and is usually used to accept the setbacks one faces in life. I wrote this poem when I was sad, listening to a sad Spotify playlist while curled up in a blanket in my room (cliché, I know). Acknowledging those feelings through my poem and using it as an outlet helped make me feel so much better. So, the next time any of you are sad, try to look for the thing that helps validate your emotions, as they are just as important as anything else about you. This poem is not something I would usually write about, but I decided to experiment a little as a way for you all to get to know me better. It is one of my shorter poems, and you can find it below :))

Let me know what you think as I absolutely love reading your comments, and it always makes my day <33 As Always,

Much Love,

Suhani

xx



"C'est la Vie"


I'm silent in a world full of noise,

I'm alone in a room full of people.

I'm crying when everyone's laughing,

and I'm asleep when they're dancing.


They're running under the sun

while I hide under the covers.

They're fascinated by rainbows,

while I struggle to see color.


My world's blurry when everyone's seeing in HD,

They're laughing at jokes I don't find funny,

They seem to smile when I wanna die

Does everyone else feel the same,

or are they just trying to lie?


With these thoughts, and many more

swirling around in my head,

I murmur to myself:

"c'est la vie"

and lay myself down to sleep.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Single Post: Blog Single Post Widget
bottom of page